Robbinsdale Area Schools

Robbinsdale Area Schools Recognized as One of the Best in Nation for Music Education

Robbinsdale Area Schools has been honored with the prestigious ‘Best Communities for Music Education’ award from The NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) Foundation. The annual award recognizes school districts across the United States for demonstrating an exceptional commitment to providing access to music education.

“We are so proud to be one of only 11 districts across Minnesota to earn this distinction,” said Carlton D. Jenkins, Ph.D., Superintendent of Robbinsdale Area Schools. “Our talented music educators work to ensure our students have the highest quality music education experience at all levels. They are continuing to build on our legacy of excellence. This award illuminates how our community truly supports the arts,” he continued.

Now in its 21st year, the Best Communities for Music Education designation is awarded to districts which demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students.This award recognizes Robbinsdale Area Schools for leading the way with learning opportunities as outlined in the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). ESSA recommends music and the arts as important elements of a well-rounded education for all children.

“Music education is an important part of our district curriculum,” said Sarah Prindiville, Fine Arts Coordinator for Robbinsdale Area Schools. “This recognition is a reflection of the hard work of performing arts staff who work tirelessly to expose our students to music in all forms,” she continued.

To qualify for the Best Communities designation, Robbinsdale Area Schools answered detailed questions related to funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities and support for music programs. Responses were verified with school officials, and reviewed by The Music Research Institute at the University of Kansas. Across the nation, 754 school districts were recognized with the 2020 award.